Atomic Cherry · BAIT footwear · Clothing Review · daisy jean floral · dress review · hell bunny · luxulite · miss lady a broad · review

Fruity Frolicing with the Hell Bunny Somerset Dress

IMG_4693

Spring is one of my favourite seasons. The weather is warm enough to not need a coat constantly but not too hot that I feel like I’m dying. The days begin betting longer. But the biggest thing I love about Spring is that all my favourite fruits start coming back into season, which really is a highlight. I’ve always loved fruit. My mum craved fruit when she was pregnant with me and in life I still love fruit.  Stone fruit is my favorite, but I love most fruits equally. And when it comes to things I love, if I can wear it too I totally will! Because who doesn’t love a fun print! So when I saw the apple print Somerset dress by Hell Bunny, I knew I needed it for my summer wardrobe.

IMG_4671
Hat – Thrifted
Flowers – Blue double from Daisy Jean
Earrings & Necklace – Juciy Jaffa Florida Oranges set from Luxulite
Brooch – Margo rita brooch from Miss Lady A Broad
Dress – Somerset Dress in blue and Red Retro Belt by Hell Bunny from Atomic Cherry
Shoes – Loraine heels in red from BAIT Footwear

The Somerset dress is a stunning 50s style cotton dress from Hell Bunny, which is a UK brand. I’ve been wearing Hell Bunny for years (my first ever retro dress was actually a Hell Bunny Dress)  and I was so excited to see a pretty new style hit Australian Stockist Atomic Cherry. It was on sale too so I ordered it in the blue, knowing it would go better with my skin tone than the orange and excitedly waited. When it arrived I was thrilled to see it was a nice cotton (hello surviving warm weather in style!) even if on my curvy frame it did sit a bit shorter than normal. I did order my normal size large and it fits well everywhere, just my hips lift the length slightly. But in my eyes this makes it a great light dress for weekends and less of a work dress.

IMG_4684

The Somerset dress is a sleeveless style with a V front. Closure is a back zip that I found did up with zero issues. The fabric truly is the hero of this dress however. Featuring a lush print of apples set on a soft blue background, the colours SCREAM spring time and really give a light feel to any look. I do find on me the length is a bit short for a petticoat, but this dress will be awesome in summer and spring for casual trips out when I want to look fabulous while keeping cool. Its not too short either that I feel uncomfortable, which is always a win.

IMG_4668

One thing I will say about this dress is on my curvy frame, often made more dramatic with the help of my beloved corsets, is that this dress really helps create an hour glass frame. The V front gives my smaller bust an ample lift and look, while the nipped waist and flared hips help add shape and smooth bumps. Without a belt I did find this dress a bit loose through the waist, but this means it will also fit well on ladies who don’t have as much of a dramatic curve to their body lines. If you do carry weight on your  lower half, just be aware that it may reduce the length slightly.

IMG_4692

IMG_4682

Keeping with the fruit theme, I opted for these fun orange earrings and necklace set from Luxulite. This fun set is super cute and light weight. I cannot wait to see what other combos I can create with this 40s inspired set over summer! I also opted to ass a throw of green to my look with my Margo Rita brooch from Miss Lady Abroad. And keeping with the blue in the dress I teamed my Blue Signature Rose Double with my thrifted garden hat!

IMG_4664

I got my gorgeous Somerset dress on sale from Atomic Cherry for $72.25AU + postage! If blue isn’t your thing Hell Bunny also released this fun print in an orange background!

I hope you’ve all enjoyed this review darlings!

Til next time!

94020-missilogo

Leave a Reply

